Some Useful Guidance On Systems Of Wedding Vows

Some Ideas For Consideration On Vital Elements Of

I dont want to invite my father to my wedding but feel coerced into doing so

woman in wedding dress I don’t want to invite my father to my wedding but feel coerced into doing so He was horrible to my sister and me and bullied my mum, who is no longer with him. Annalisa Barbieri advises a reader ‘If I had the final say, I would not invite him. I don’t like him, but I accept, begrudgingly, that he is my father.’Photograph: Stefano Civolani / Alamy/Alamy I don’t want to invite my father to my wedding but feel coerced into doing so He was horrible to my sister and me and bullied my mum, who is no longer with him. Annalisa Barbieri advises a reader Last modified on Saturday 1 July 2017 00.10 BST My sister and I have always had a rather fraught relationship with my father. He failed to form bonds and took no interest in us, seeing us as a nuisance. I remember wondering why it was like this and why he didn’t love us. My mum always told us differently, until it became so clear that he was also horrible to her (coercive control through bullying, vicious comments on her look and her attitude), that she could no longer pretend he was just a bit stressed. He exhibited aggressive behaviour – verbally and through his actions. He stole from me, went through my things, violated my privacy, and repeatedly told my sister she was fat. I did not trust him and took no pleasure in being around him. When I was 18, my parents’ marriage ended.

For the original version including any supplementary images or video, visit https://www.theguardian.com/lifeandstyle/2017/jun/30/i-dont-want-to-invite-my-father-to-my-wedding-but-feel-coerced-into-doing-so

Leave a Reply

